« Let's dispose of a couple of myths . . . | Main | A few days away and the kicking continues . . . »

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Armchair Ref

This photo brings up an interesting topic that is oft overlooked. Was this tackle SFP? Or should it be reported as VC? This is one of those instances when this is a foul and a misconduct. The ball was close and could provide an excuse to write it up as SFP. However seeing this in real time(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NQCCcEr-gY), it is even more clear that this was Violent Conduct. This was not an attempt to challenge for the ball and a mis-tackle.
IMHO this is worthy of the VC label.
If this is not written up as VC then the player (Kevin Nolan) gets off by only missing one game instead of the three for VC.
If we as a referee community are to protect the game, we need to make it very clear that this type of tackle is not only cynical, but destroys the game.
Thanks for the post Bob.

CSR

What gets me about the incident with Nolan was the "You're kidding! Who, me?" look on his face as the referee showed him the red card. Seen here - http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/090222/59/1arw1.html

It always amazes me. . .even when a player does something that so obviously deserves a send-off, how often they'll act incredulous that the referee is actually sending them off. Amazing how many players look at the red card with a "Who me?" look/gesture. I see this all the time at the youth level - whether U19 boys or even U15 girls. Heaven forbid the referee should call them to task for their actions.

Ian

Nolan's tackle was truly awful, and I cannot understand how people believe that this is anything other than deliberate. I cannot think of anyone tackling like that with any intention other than maiming their opponent.

On an unrelated note, I'm curious what you thought of the first send off in the A-League final between Melbourne and Adelaide, where Cristiano is sent off for violent conduct. I was surprised to see the send off overturned, since Cristiano's arm is so far away from his body and the direction of his jump is not straight up but into his opponent. To me, given the distance of the elbow from the body and the direction of the jump, it was a send off. What are your thoughts, Bob? There's a video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fjO6C1q3VI&eurl=http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=962796.

Sarah

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

Sarah

http://www.lyricsdigs.com

The comments to this entry are closed.